Tags

If you’ve read and enjoyed books by S. Dora and R. A. Padmos, then I’m sure you’ll love Ella Laurance’s new release, The Art of Pleasure.

Ella is here today answering some interview questions and sharing with us an excerpt of her new release. Please give her a warm welcome, and feel free to leave a comment or two!

By the way, Ella, I love the cover 😉

Ella Laurance - The Art of Pleasure 6-10-13

When and why did you begin writing?

I must have been 11 when I realized that I was actually able to write stories myself, and not just read them. I haven’t stopped ever since.

What is your favorite thing about writing?

There are actually two things: creating characters and writing dialogue. And those two things are very closely related.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I think I developed my style over the years, yes. It’s of a rather introvert kind. My characters have a tendency to a lot of self-reflecting instead of getting right into the action.  Though you probably wouldn’t say that of the characters in the Art of Pleasure.

What do you find is the hardest thing about being an author?

My crippling self-doubt.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’ve read a lot of fiction, especially when I was younger, in all possible genres. I remember them all fondly because they showed me the wide reach of imagination and styles.

What inspired you to write the Art of Pleasure?

Total E-Bound had a call for m/f stories around the billionaire theme. Since I don’t care for that particular theme at all, I considered it an interesting challenge. Writers should leave their comfort zone from time to time.

Was there anything you found particularly challenging when writing the Art of Pleasure?

I guess the theme itself, very rich people. It’s simply not part of what inspires me as a writer, or what captures my imagination as a human being. I ended up having quite a bit of fun writing it, and I hope it shows.

My wife and I even had a bit of fantasy that if we were that rich, we certainly would have our own private art collection of female artists. In reality we have to make do with books and visits to museums.

How did you come up with the title the Art of Pleasure?

A little play with words, since the story is about a woman who loves art and sex in equal measure. But it’s also the story of her husband and his generosity, not only with his money, because that doesn’t mean all that much since he has more than enough of the stuff. No, he buys her art because he knows that is what makes her happy. And he’s also very okay with her having sex with other men without feeling threatened by it, because he realizes what he means to her when everything is said and done.

If you were to give your book a Heat Rating, (lowest) 1—simmering, 2—sizzling, 3—on fire, or 4—blazing (highest), which would it be and why?

Somewhere between 3 and 4, I guess. It all depends on what you’re used to. But it’s a m/f/m book and the three of them really get into the action.

What’s next for you?

Kick my doubt aside and write more? (grins)

Ella Laurance - The Art of Pleasure 6-10-13Book Blurb

Marie Dewey collects paintings and sexual experiences with different men, and her billionaire husband Trevor loves nothing more than to fulfil all her wishes…

Billionaire Trevor Dewey has two great talents—making money and loving his wife, Marie. Marie, in her turn, has two great loves—her husband and art. She’s also a sexual freethinker who enjoys one-night stands with other men in the company of her own husband.

Trevor wants nothing more than to make his wife happy, so when she falls in lust with his personal assistant and best friend, Callum, and Callum returns her feelings, he decides to take both of them to his private island off the coast of Scotland for a weekend of sex. And both men will bring Marie to severalunbelievable heights of pleasure during one weekend.

All three know this will be a one-time thing only before life returns to normal

Excerpt

“Callum? You already know what I’m going to ask…”

Callum chuckled. “And you already know what my answer will be.”

“Do I? This has nothing to do with your job. Neither Marie nor I assume anything concerning your reaction to what I’m going to say. Now, I’m not blind and I’ve seen you looking at her, but that doesn’t mean I know your answer beforehand.”

“The answer is yes, I will get into the Sikorsky so you can fly the three of us to the island and I’ll fuck your wife.”

“And now I definitely need a stiff drink, as they would say in the movies.” Trevor walked to the bar and got out a bottle of eighteen-year-old single-malt Glenfiddich and two glasses.

He sat across from Callum after he had handed him a glass of whisky and observed the man for a few minutes. His assistant allowed it calmly to happen, no sign of uneasiness on his face.

“You’re aware she’s not in love with you?”

“I’m not in love with her either.” Callum swallowed a sip of whisky. “I respect her as my employer’s wife and as a collector of art, love her as a friend, I’m looking forward to exploring her body like any man would who isn’t one hundred per cent gay, but if I had met her one day before you bought that first painting for her, nothing would have happened.”

“You’re sure about that?”

“I can’t give Marie what she needs, you can. And I’m not talking about millions’ worth of paintings and a nice building to store them in.”

“Strange, isn’t it? Love, I mean. Here I am, a billionaire and my wife loves me despite my money.”

Buy links: Total-E-Bound * Amazon * All Romance eBooks

Author bio

The real life version of Ella Laurance was born and raised in Rotterdam and never really left. She studied (social) history and has done a small assortment of jobs and voluntary work. But writing has been the main theme through all of it.

She’s been with her wife since 1981, and together they have raised two sons. There are also cats. And books. Lots of books.

Ella Laurance also publishes as S. Dora and R.A. Padmos.

You can find Ella at her blog. 

