Tags

I’d like to welcome the lovely Nancy Adams as my guest today.

Nancy said that one element she demands in her writing is humor. I seconded that statement after I saw this on her website – ‘I am a full-blooded Canadian, right down to the maple syrup running through my veins’. 😀

She also demands that her stories are intriguing and have a good dose of naughty scenes, and I’m sure you’ll find all of that in her books No Matter When, The Soul Within, and her most recent release – which she’ll be telling us about today – The Bannockburn Spell.

Please give her a warm welcome, and feel free to leave a comment or two!

Nancy Adams - The Bannockburn Spell banner 2-21-13

When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing and taking writing course back in 2008, something that was just for me while my husband was deployed to Afghanistan.

What is your favorite thing about writing?

It’s a part of my life that is just for me, I don’t have to share it.  I get to escape into my make-believe world and spend time doing want I want to do, not what I have to do.  That sounds very selfish I know, but why lie.  Every woman needs some part of her life that belongs to her alone. For me it’s my writing.

Do you have a specific writing style?

Hmm! That’s a good question I had no idea.  Sooo, I asked my brilliant editor for her input because who knows my writing better than my editor. She said, ‘When I think of your writing, I think of swoony alpha males, and sassy, strong female. Writing style…lively, sparky, flowing.’  I never though about my writing in those terms, leave it to an editor to find the right choice in words. All Hail the Mighty Editor!

What do you find is the hardest thing about being an author?

Finding time for myself, I work from home and you would think that would be the best place to get work done but honestly it’s not.  There are too many distractions, time limitations, kids, pets, the phone, cleaning, making meals and the worst of the worst…laundry! Eek!

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have so many favourite authors and each one has a specific element that has hooked me.  Gena Showalter has the best sense of humor, I’ve actually laughed out loud reading her books.  Christine Feehan has a way of describing the perfect man that leaves me drooling for more; and Dean Koontz creates realistic worlds that I feel as though I could step into.  The list just goes on and on.

What inspired you to write The Bannockburn Spell?

Nothing.  It was just an idea I had one night while trying to fall asleep.  I liked the idea so much that I kept thinking about it, so I finally got up in the middle of the night…3:00ish…and typed out a brief outline.

Was there anything you found particularly challenging when writing The Bannockburn Spell?

Totally!  The first few drafts were way to long.  It went on and on, blah, blah blah. There were too many sparks, too much babbling and I really didn’t want that in my book.  Sooo, I ended up putting it aside and beginning No Matter When my first published book.  Funny thing was I actually used some of the elements from the original drafts of The Bannockburn Spell in No Matter When which ended up solving my problems.  Its funny how things work out.

How did you come up with the title?

Actually, the original name was The Contract. Short and simple.  But it doesn’t really catch your attention and there a lot of other books out there with that title.  I fooled around with other title like Sex, Bets and Peppermint Tea, which I thought was cute but no one else did. Sheesh! Then I came up with The Bannockburn Spell.  It gives you an idea what the story is about and there aren’t any other book out there with Bannockburn and Spell together in the title.  I Googled it. LOL

If you were to give your book a Heat Rating, (lowest) 1—simmering, 2—sizzling, 3—on fire, or 4—blazing (highest), which would it be and why?

I would give it a 1 and a 4.  From the moment they met, the attraction my main characters share simmers on the back burners, then KABAM! They are blazing away.  The sexual energy between then is highly combustible.  It’s like a car that goes from 0 to 60 in 3 seconds flat.

What’s next for you?

Right now, I’m working on a contemporary/shifter erotic romance title, Extinct.  It takes place on Vancouver Island, British Colombia.

Nancy Adams - The Bannockburn Spell cover 2-21-13Book blurb

With the help of a bet, an eight-hundred-year-old marriage contract and a spell, ex-SBS soldier Will might just have enough in his arsenal to capture Meghan’s heart.

Since arriving in Little Glen, Scotland, Meghan Kennedy’s life has got decidedly more interesting. She enters into a bet with hunky ex-SBS soldier, William MacKenzie, discovers an ancient marriage contract and to top it all off, she learns that she had a spell cast on her…eight hundred years before she was even born. None of it matters, because she refuses to make the same mistake twice. Will’s hard body and sexy grin don’t matter, his beautiful hypnotic eyes don’t matter, and it doesn’t matter that every time they kiss her body calls out for his, as though denied of his touch for hundreds of years.

Ex-SBS soldier William MacKenzie is disciplined, trained to be an efficient soldier and he takes the same approach with his life as he does his business. Then Meghan arrives, with her fiery temper and hair to match, all he can think about is Meghan. Her feisty temper bemuses him, her beauty astounds him and her stubbornness annoys the hell out of him. Lucky for him, he doesn’t know how to quit, he can be just as stubborn and occasionally ruthless, and he will use any means necessary to get her. Of course the ‘means’ at his disposal just happen to be a bet, a marriage contract and an ancient spell, but if in the end Meghan belongs to him, who is he to argue?

Excerpt (R)

Meghan’s gasp never had time to escape. Will’s mouth covered hers the second he ripped her panties off. She moved her legs high around his waist as he drove into her over and over. The table rocked with their loving. Their breathing was fast and choppy. She leaned her head against his as he kissed the side of her neck. God this was hot. She felt so wanted, so desired, so sexy. She raised her hips to meet his, and sucked in a breath when the friction of their bodies stroked her clit. She repeated the movement and moaned when Will curled his hand around her behind and held her in place, thrusting into her in quick, hard strokes.

Slowing, he pushed up onto his forearms and her breath caught again, but not because of him touching her body, but because of the rush of emotions that ran through her when he gazed down. She fought like crazy to block it out, fought to focus on what Will was doing to her body and how much she was enjoying it.

“Stop fighting me.” Will brushed his lips over hers as he moved even slower.

She shook her head. “I’m n-not…” She sucked in a gulp of air when he dragged his body over hers. Her hips jerked when he repeated the slow movement.

“You are.” He nuzzled the side of her neck, ran his hands into her hair, holding her head still. “Why? Am I that bad of a person? Do you find me hideous to look at?”

“No.” Her head bumped the side of his head as she shook hers. Of course she didn’t think he was a bad person, and she loved to look at him. He was beautiful, the perfect example of a man. “I-I just…” she began, but was interrupted when he thrust back into her. “Mmm,” she moaned.

The tension built with each stroke of his cock, each kiss of his lips. Soon that familiar tingling heat was spreading lightning quick through her core and thighs, then to the rest of her body. He gripped her face, crushed his mouth to hers, slammed into her like he knew what her body was going to do before she did. She arched her back when the throbbing started, trying to pull him in farther, but he straightened and clamped his hand around her thighs and plunged hard. Again and again. The pulsing didn’t end, it grew stronger, more powerful each time Will drove into her. Then her body began to shake, it scared her a little, this intensity he was causing. She reached for him, prayed silently he would come to her, protect her from herself. As he moved down to cover her body she exploded into a million pieces. At the same moment Will gritted out a curse, his body slamming into hers one last time before he pressed his lips into the side of her neck. And there she stayed for a few minutes, cradled in Will’s arms, his large body warm and protective, and she wished with her entire being that it would last a lifetime.

Buy links: Total-E-Bound * All Romance eBooks * Amazon * Kobo * Barnes & Noble

Author bio

Besides her addiction to trash novels and bed linens, Nancy has been known to spontaneously rearrange furniture and stay up to the wee hours of the morning reading.  Writing is a new passion for Nancy, which began in 2008 with ‘hobby’ writing courses, while her husband was deployed.

Nancy’s favorite genre…is anything romance related, although she does enjoy a good laugh.  As for her own novels, she demands three elements, intrigue, humor and a good dose of naughty scenes.

Her other hobbies include, walking the dogs, running, and painting (not on canvas…the house).  Nancy lives in Eastern Ontario with her family and two furry beasts.

You can find Nancy at: Website * Blog * Facebook * Total-E-Bound author page

You can email Nancy at: fancy-nancyadams@hotmail.com

