Tags

I’d like to welcome the wonderful RJ Scott as my guest author today! I am happy to say that RJ has joined the Total-E-Bound team *yay!* and her first release with TEB, The Fireman and the Cop, is already up for pre-release!

Please give RJ a warm welcome and feel free to leave her a comment or two!

(Ooh, I just love this cover ;))

RJ Scott - The Fireman and the Cop cover 1-21-13

When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was very young at school. Or rather that was my first memory of writing. I put my finger in the cookie mix at school and got a detention. I had to stay in and write a story and ended up writing two sides about a princess trapped in a tower (what do you mean plagiarism). I loved English lessons all through my school life and particularly loved reading my writing out loud (don’t judge me!). I wrote some long handed fan fiction for a while then rediscovered it in the Supernatural fandom where I found MM… I was HOOKED… a million words of fan fiction later and I decided I would love to make a dream come true and get published. Chris Quinton said I should give it a go and I was so lucky that my first ever piece of non Supernatural writing was picked up for an anthology.

Why I write is not a question I can answer. I have to write. It’s a natural high. I couldn’t NOT write…

What is your favorite thing about writing?

That high you get when the words flow and the story unfolds in front of you. Amazing.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I start at chapter 1 and go from there. I have a vague storyline in my head and two characters and I just go for it. I don’t plot. When I plot my head tells me that the story is finished and my muse goes and hides!

What do you find is the hardest thing about being an author?

Having back ache… ROFL… I see a chiro twice a month. My posture is terrible, especially when I am intensely focused. Sometimes though, the hardest thing is that I have so many stories in my head and not enough time to get them on paper… L

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I was an avid Nora Roberts fan, funnily enough until I started writing myself. In my genre I love SJD Peterson, Diane Adams, Meredith Russell, Chris Quinton and I absolutely mainline Stephani Hecht’s hockey books. I am not a fan of insta love all apart from Steph and Amber Kell who are always on my to read list.

What inspired you to write this book?

The Fireman and the Cop was created after a trip to Tennessee… I met Amber and Carol Lynne and I knew I wanted to sub to a new Publisher. They suggested TEB (Total E-Bound) and in a flash I had Ellery Mountain. Based in and around the Smoky Mountains the series just snowballed and I was so lucky that TEB offered me a contract for the five books (although there may be a book 6 to even up print runs and because I have SO MANY stories in my head for this small town at the foot of Ellery Peak.

Was there anything you found particularly challenging when writing this book?

Sex scenes… I always find sex scenes challenging!

How did you come up with the title?

The books is about a Fireman and a Cop… The title just seemed perfect!

If you were to give your book a Heat Rating, (lowest) 1—simmering, 2—sizzling, 3—on fire, or 4—blazing (highest), which would it be and why?

Oh god, I don’t know… ROFL… I refer you to my previous comment about sex scenes… there is more sex in this book than in other RJ Scott books though…

What’s next for you?

There are follow ups to Fireman/Cop, the next one being The Teacher And The Soldier. There is more information on Ellery here http://ellerymountain.weebly.com/.

I also have a brand new direct sales website where I am self publishing some old books that I have taken back from Silver and I also aim to get at least six new books on there in 2013… I have more books coming from TEB and hopefully one with Loose ID… so a really busy year… a full list of my WIPs is on my website www.rjscott.co.uk.

RJ Scott - The Fireman and the Cop cover 1-21-13Book blurb

Book one in the Ellery Mountain Series

Rescuing cop Finn Ryan from a burning precinct was easy; it’s keeping him alive after that which fireman Max Harrison finds difficult.

Ellery is a quiet town in the Smoky Mountains, at the base of Ellery Peak, and nothing ever happens. Max is escaping from his firefighting job in the city to take up a role as assistant to the Mayor whilst also holding the position of a volunteer fire fighter.

Finn Ryan is one of only three cops in the small town and it soon seems to Max that someone is out to hurt the sexy cop. Rescuing Finn from a burning precinct was the easy part; it’s keeping him alive after that which fireman Max Harrison finds difficult.

Buy link: Total-E-Bound

