Tags

Join me in welcoming today’s guest author, the wonderful Sage Marlowe. Aside from five stand alone titles, he is also the author of the Phoenix Series; Ink, Sweat and Tears Series; Romeo & Julian Series (book#1 coming soon); and of course, his Sub-Mission Series. Sub-Culture (Sub-Mission#2) coming soon!

Today, though, Sage will be telling us about his new release Re-Submission, and a little bit about himself. Please give him a warm welcome, and feel free to leave a comment or two. 🙂

Sage Marlowe - Sage Logo text 12-13-12

When and why did you begin writing?

I always wanted to be a writer but well, my muse kept avoiding me. He was probably not all that happy with my plan to write crime or maybe mainstream romance. Then one night I woke up with a character in my head and all those scenes. It was a bit scary, because for about a week, all those scenes just kept developing and more and more of the story presented itself to me until eventually, I picked up my laptop and started writing it down. I guess it was either that or going insane because yes, by that time I was tempted to actually talk to that guy. Sadly his story has yet to be published but a lot of other fascinating characters have taken over since and happily share the space inside my head.

What is your favorite thing about writing?

Getting really absorbed in a scene. And I mean, really – to the point where I forget all about where I am and live in the story, when I can feel my characters and see the world through their eyes. It doesn’t always work that way, but when it does, it’s magic.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m sure I do although I find it hard to describe, simply for lack of background knowledge. I almost always write my stories in third-person POV and stick to one character’s POV. The only exceptions to that are Triple Trust, which has all the heroes’ POVs and my current WIP which is the first ever story I’m writing in first-person narrative.

What do you find is the hardest thing about being an author?

For me the hardest parts of being an author are definitely making the time to write and marketing. My partner and family are not particularly interested in books which is a euphemism for they don’t give a toss. The only exception to that is my mum, who keeps wondering at how much work it actually involves.

I find marketing and promo difficult because, like a lot of writers, I’m the shy, observant type. I’m the one who stands in the corner at a party and watches the others having a good time, if I ever make it to the party in the first place. It’s not really in my nature to walk into a room full of people and say “Here I am and oh, why don’t you read my book?” That doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy talking to people. I just find it hard to take the first step and also, I don’t want to crowd people, which is always a bit of a risk when you’re an author approaching readers.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t think I can narrow it down to just one,  and also it would be a bit unfair as I have little time to read and there are so many brilliant authors out there I have yet to discover. Among my favourites are Emily Bronte, who made me fall in love with a book for the first time, and, within my own genre, Harper Fox. She creates adorable, intense characters and uses some of the most wonderful prose I’ve ever read. I also find her work hugely inspirational and usually by the time I’ve finished one of her books I’m itching to write a new one myself.

What inspired you to write Re-Submission?

“Re-Submission” was not inspired by a “what” so much as by a “who”. It tells the story of Francis, who first appeared in my debut novel “Sub-Mission”. He was only ever meant to have a minor role but by the time I’d finished writing Sub-Mission I just knew he’d have to get his own story.

Was there anything you found particularly challenging when writing Re-Submission?

Well, I’m using a somewhat unusual narrative for this. I hadn’t intended to do so, but like all of my books it just developed in that direction and I let it have its way. I can’t really explain this without giving away too much but it has to do with the POV it’s written in.

How did you come up with the title?

My first book’s title Sub-Mission is a play on words, referring both to submission within a BDSM context and the “mission” one of the heroes embarks upon. Of course there’s also the submission of a manuscript and with Sub-Mission being the first book I ever submitted, I thought the title was a good fit.

For the sequel, or rather the next book in the series, I wanted a similar title, so I guess Re-Submission was an obvious choice. Funnily enough, the book actually lived up to its title, because it’s the one that required by far the most changes.

If you were to give Re-Submission a Heat Rating, (lowest) 1—simmering, 2—sizzling, 3—on fire, or 4—blazing (highest), which would it be and why?

Oh, Re-Submission is definitely on fire. There’s BDSM involved and as one of my editors put it, “When they’re not having sex, they’re talking about it or watching it.”

What’s next for you?

I’m currently working on the third book in my Romeo & Julian series which is published by Siren-Bookstrand. There’s also a novel I’m just about to finish and after that, I’ll probably be making my way through all those manuscripts I started writing at some point.

Sage Marlowe - Resubmission cover 12-13-12Book Blurb

Rubbing a toppy sub, a submissive Top and a Dom with attitude together is guaranteed to send sparks flying — but what will they ignite?

Meet Tyler Kane. Ballsy and headstrong, he’s far from being the submissive type. Francis Hollister, Dom and proud owner of a BDSM club, couldn’t agree more — and yet, as Tyler carelessly suggests a bet, Francis sees an opportunity arise and decides to take him up on it.

Soon Tyler finds himself in Francis’ club and about to be trained as a sub. When Shae, the gorgeous Top Francis has assigned to teach him, doesn’t appear to be quite as dominant as his role would lead to believe and Francis turns out to be a rather versatile Dom, Tyler sees a perfect match just waiting to be made happen. Too bad though that he’s the only one who sees it. Or maybe he isn’t?

Curious to find out what happens when you rub a submissive Top, a toppy sub and a Dom with attitude together and what exactly the sparks from that explosive combination ignite, Tyler enlists the help of Pierce, Francis’ brother, and his partner Noah, and sets out on a mission.

While Tyler’s plan seems to work out astonishingly well, it seems that there’s more than one man in the club who is pursuing a hidden agenda…

Reader Advisory: While this book stands alone, it features Noah and Pierce from ‘Sub-Mission’ and follows up on their story, so you might wish to read that first.

Excerpt

“Oh, come on, you’ve got to be joking!” Tyler groaned when the smoke-grey Jaguar in front of him slowed and braked yet again instead of just passing the orange light. “Why does this always happen when I’m in a fucking hurry?” he grumbled, drumming his fingers on the steering wheel as he counted to ten. Then twenty. Thirty. The light changed but the Jaguar remained glued to the asphalt and cowered on the road like a beautiful but lazy cat.

“Hel-lo!” Tyler shouted, but nothing happened. Except that the light changed back to red after a short period. “Fuck!”

Tyler thumped the steering wheel and watched the other car. Its driver must have been busy checking stock exchange rates instead of paying attention to the traffic. But then again, with a car like this, the driver was in all probability not the owner but rather some poor soul who had to ferry an overpaid, underworked business executive around. The light went green again and still the Jaguar remained in place.

At last, the driver’s door opened and a slim figure hopped out.

“Damn, how sick can you get?” Tyler muttered. A chauffeur in uniform was one thing, but this one was wearing a uniform made of black leather.

The man went around the car, opened the bonnet and disappeared behind it. Seconds later, he turned up again and walked to the rear of the car where he seemed to be talking to whoever sat in the backseat.

“Oh, for fuck’s sake!” Tyler unclipped his belt, then got out of the car and slammed the door shut, just to vent some of his frustration. Staring at the Jaguar, he shouted, “I don’t care what your problem is, but could you just remove that pile of scrap so I can get past? I’ve somewhere to be and I haven’t got all day to get there.”

Startled, the driver glanced in Tyler’s direction but not quite at him. He was younger than Tyler had assumed him to be at first sight. He must have been in his early twenties, but skinny and fine-boned and not Tyler’s type. Plus, his nervy fidgetiness was rather annoying, as was the fact that he didn’t give an answer. Ignoring Tyler, he shifted his attention back to his passenger. Just as Tyler was about to turn around and leave the irritating thing alone, the back door of the car was opened and the mysterious second man emerged.

Tyler froze mid-motion. The driver had been of little interest to him, but the passenger had his entire attention in an instant. Tall and with the kind of posture that suggested a greater physical power than his refined, somewhat snobbish exterior led one to believe, he was right up Tyler’s alley. He was also probably older than him by a few years and quite handsome in a distinguished way. The clothes he wore must have cost more than Tyler earned in a month.

“Sugar daddy,” Tyler whispered to himself.

“I apologise for the inconvenience,” the man called out to him. “I’m afraid the car refuses to start and my driver has no idea why that is.” His voice was kind and pleasant but instead of sounding apologetic, there was a decisive tone to it, as if its owner was used to giving orders and being obeyed without question. Tyler liked it. He went to the Jaguar and held out his hand to the stranger without even thinking about it.

“Tyler Kane. Any clues as to what’s wrong with it?”

“Francis Hollister,” the other man replied as he gave Tyler’s hand a dry, firm squeeze. “And no. The engine just died when we stopped and won’t start again.”

“Got enough petrol?”

“I hope so.” Francis glanced at his leather-clad driver with a faint smile on his face and Tyler, too, turned to the boy. “Well, have you?”

He got a wordless, weak nod in reply.

“Okay. Good. Was there anything unusual with it?”

Not meeting his eyes, the boy didn’t answer.

“Hi there, anyone at home?” Tyler enquired, letting sarcasm seep into his voice. “I’m talking to you. You’re the driver, you must have noticed something. Besides, if that’s your job, you should have some idea about cars. So?”

Still, the young man ignored him and Tyler’s anger flared up again.

“Is there something wrong with you? I’m talking to you. Are you deaf?”

“No, he’s not deaf.” Francis took a step closer to him, blocking the chauffeur with his body. “And I’d appreciate it if you didn’t shout at him.”

“Well, what’s the matter with him? Can’t he speak for himself?” Tyler asked.

“Not right now, no.”

“Why’s that? Cat got his tongue?”

“He’s ordered to silence,” Francis said.

“He’s what?”

“Ordered to silence.”

“By whom?”

“Me.”

“Why?”

Francis didn’t bat an eyelid as he said, “Because I wanted to.”

Buy Links: Total-E-Bound * Amazon * All Romance eBooks

Author Bio

Sage Marlowe is an author of MM erotic romance and just loves taking romance to the edge. Sage writes stories about real men who face real problems, although the odd vampire or two may sneak in occasionally, and is published with Total-E-Bound and Siren-BookStrand.

Explore Sage’s world: Sage Marlowe – Taking romance to the edge…

You can also find Sage at: Facebook * Goodreads * Amazon * Twitter

Or email him: marlowe.sage@yahoo.co.uk

